Pain: the Gift Nobody Longs For

by Omolola Oriogun

Pain – the gift nobody longs for
Still it comes
Somehow leaves us stronger when it’s gone away
Pray – I try and pray for Your will to be done
But I confess it’s never fast enough
For me, it seems the hardest part is waiting on You
When what I really want is just to see Your hand move

I want a peace beyond my understanding
I want to feel it fall like rain in the middle of my hurting
I want to feel Your arms as they surround me
And let me know that it’s okay to be here in this place
Resting in the peace that only comes in the waiting

Time, Time to let it go and just believe
Trusting in what no one else but You can see
Free – freedom from the fears that close me in
When I can’t beyond where I have been
But then again the silence doesn’t mean that I’m alone
As long as I can hear that I am still Your own.
(Words by Dave Clark, Don Koch, Greg Long (c) 2001)

These are the lyrics of a song (In the Waiting) performed by Vicky Yohe. I took my time to read the words over and over again so I could get its meaning and full understanding.   In this world, no man has ever in his/her life asked for pain, suffering or anything thing that’ll bring tears. One thing is certain, pain and suffering come, whether we ask for it or not – and the way we handle it matters.

The Bible made us to understand in Heb. 5:7-10 that JESUS learnt obedience through the things HE suffered. If JESUS the author of our salvation suffered, then we should expect to suffer because JESUS is expecting HIMSELF to be formed in us.

In Matt. 5:11-12, JESUS made us to understand that “Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for My sake. Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.” For any of us who endured suffering like JESUS did, HE is assuring us that there’s a reward is awaiting us in Heaven.

Also in Matthew 16:21 JESUS revealed to HIS disciples that the time had come for HIM to go to Jerusalem to suffer and be put to death, and on the third day, rise again. As Christians, we must understand that suffering is part of the package for us to be changed into the image of CHRIST.

Rom. 8:17-18 is a scripture I love so well because it made me to fully understand the joy that can come  from pain and suffering – “And if children, then heirs; heirs of GOD, and joint-heirs with CHRIST; if so be that we suffer with HIM, that we may be also glorified together. For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.”

Dearly beloved, when pain and suffering comes, instead of being angry, saying any insultive words or stopping your relationship with GOD; thank HIM for the pain and suffering, worship and make sure your relationship with GOD continues and finally, ask HIM for HIS peace that’s beyond your understanding and HIS grace to see you through it all.

There and there, you can be sure of reiging in eternity with HIM!!!

Leave a Reply

